Ex-PSL and SAFA match official Victor Hlungwani react to Orlando Pirates wrongfully being denied two penalties against Marumo Gallants and Patrick Maswanganyi’s tackle on Teboho Mokoena.

On Tuesday, the 12th of August, Pirates took on Gallants away in Bloemfontein, in an encounter the Buccaneers suffered its second defeat of the season.
However, despite the defeat, Hlungwani felt Pirates were denied two spot kicks in the first half, when the match was still tied at 0-0.
Speaking on SABC Sport football show, Soccerzone, Hlungwani stated the home side committed two penalty offences in a space of less than a minute, which referee on the day, Thando Ndzandzeka wrongfully did not award.
“There is a penalty appeal by Pirates. There is hand ball and also tripping,” he stated on Referee’s Corner on Soccerzone.
“The first one was a handball by [Marvin] Sikhosana. You can see the player is putting his hand in that position. That’s [the] unnatural position of the hand.
“So when the player puts a hand in that position, he is taking a risk of the hand being hit by the ball. If the ball makes contact with the hand in that position, a penalty offence has been committed.”
“Referee awarded an advantage, and there is another offence which is tripping at the same time.
“So, there are two offences committed, hand and tripping for [Oswin] Appollis by [Siyabonga] Nhlapo, which were not penalise.
“Incorrect decision by the referee not to penalise for penalty, because two offences [and] all of them results in a penalty.”
He further touched on Maswanganyi’s tackle on Mokoena during the first leg of the MTN8 semifinal at Orlando Stadium this past Saturday.
“We see what we call tackle or challenge that endangers the safety of an opponent, must be sanctioned as a serious foul play,” he added.
“Here is Maswanganyi doing what we call, serious foul play. Straight leg on the achillies tendon of Mokoena.
“It was not seen or referee awarded advantage, but you see he gets a yellow card, was this the right card? Look at Mokone feeling pains, look at what happened.
“That is serious foul play. The player should have been sent off.”