Orlando Pirates head coach Jose Riveiro believes his club rightfully won a penalty after Victor Letsoalo deliberately handled the ball in the box.
The Spanish led to Pirates to their second title of season after a 2-1 victory over Sekhukhune United yesterday.
Goals from Tapelo Xoki and Terrence Dzukamanja were enough to cancel out Sibusiso Vilakazi’s early strike.
However, the biggest moment in the match came in the 45th minute.
Pirates were awarded a penalty after Victor Letsoalo deliberately handled the ball in the box.
On the first view, Thembinkosi Lorch seems to have kicked the ball deliberately into Letsoalo’s hand.
But on close inspection, Letsoalo can be seen trying to pull the ball back to him while in the box.
See the penalty incident below:
During the post-match interview, Riveiro explained why he thinks that referee, Thando Ndzandzeka, was right to award the spot.
Despite not having the opportunity to watch the clip, the Spanish guitar saw an image of Letsoalo deliberately handling the ball.
The emotional Pirates coach lifts his second trophy of the season.
He won the MTN8 trophy earlier this season while also finishing second in the league.