Latest Posts

Ex-Pirates And Sundowns Star Facing The Axe From Amazulu Former Kaizer Chiefs Star At Risk Of Losing His R2 Million Home Peterson and Dolly Involved In Khune’s Alleged Suspension? Spurs To Suffer Early Relegation? Kaizer Chiefs Close To Signing Former Pitso Mosimane’s Man Nobody Cares About Our Complaints|| Mokwena Hits Back Pitso Confirms His Return To South Africa PSL Club Sabotages Bafana During World Cup Qualifiers Sundowns Suffers Double Blow Ahead Of Tshwane Derby Watch: The Past Comes Back To Haunt Itumeleng Khune

The final of the MTN8 between Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates at Moses Mabhida Stadium this past Saturday stirred controversy due to referee Abongile Tom’s decisions.

Mamelodi Sundowns penalty claims during the 2023 MTN8 final against Orlando Pirates at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Former PSL referee Victor “Principal” Hlongwane sheds light on key incidents that played a pivotal role in the outcome of the match.

IN OTHER NEWS: Mamelodi Sundowns Breaks PSL Record With Defeat To Orlando Pirates

Shandu Incident – No Penalty

In the 74th minute, Bandile Shandu handled the ball inside his box while attempting to defend Aubrey Modiba’s cross.

Hlongwane asserts that Tom made the correct call by not awarding a penalty.

Shandu’s hands were in a natural position, and he did not deliberately use them to stop the attack.

Shalulile’s “Impeding” of Chaine

In the third minute of extra time, Sipho Chaine spilled the ball after a shot from Tebogo Mokoena, leading to his tackle on Lebogang Maboe in the box.

IN OTHER NEWS: Dstv Diski Challenge Showdown: Kaizer Chiefs Vs Mamelodi Sundowns 

Surprisingly, the call went against Sundowns. Hlongwane explains that Shalulile impeded Chaine before the tackle, and the foul was rightfully awarded against the Sundowns striker.

Timm’s Foul on Shalulile – Unpunished

Four minutes later, Pirates’ midfielder Miguel Timm fouled Shalulile inside the box.

Shalulile had reached the ball first, and Timm kicked him from behind.

Tom, however, waved off calls for a penalty. Hlongwane argues that Timm’s foul went unpunished and that a penalty should have been given.

The MTN8 final between Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates will be remembered for the contentious decisions made by referee Abongile Tom.

While Hlongwane agrees with two of Tom’s calls, he strongly believes that the missed penalty in the Timm-Shalulile incident had a significant impact on the outcome.

IN OTHER NEWS: GDL: Kaizer Chiefs Beat Jomo Cosmos 

The match ultimately ended in a 3-1 penalty shootout victory for Pirates after a goalless 120 minutes of play.

About Author

2 thoughts on “Former PSL Referee Weighs In On Controversial MTN8 Final Penalty Calls

Leave a Reply

HTML Snippets Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: